Spring Break Kids Fun at Michigan Science Center in Detroit

FEASpringBreakSpaceMichiganScienceCenter.jpg

Spring break is a perfect time to think science! Not tests and tricky equations, though. We're talking the hands-on brand that's sure to spark kids' brains as they're having a blast.

Michigan Science Center in Detroit is planning plenty of cool stuff to fill those few days off. In fact, you'll find three weeks' worth of fun activities that align with various school vacation dates.

First, on April 6-12, space is the theme as kids blast in for some serious cosmic exploration. Each day has a different activity, including:

  • Saturday, April 6: Rocket science, where kids make a straw rocket
  • Monday, April 7: Sun and earth, which explores their parts and relationship
  • Tuesday, April 8: Astronaut life, where kids learn what it's like on the International Space Station
  • Wednesday, April 9: Solar system, where kids make a bracelet version of it
  • Thursday, April 10: Discovering differences between moons, comets and asteroids
  • Friday, April 11: Robots, rovers and more cool space technology
  • Saturday, April 12: Telescopes, complete with solar viewing, weather permitting

Then, on April 13-19, the theme flips to STEM, focusing on science, technology, engineering and math. On these dates, visit for:

  • Sunday, April 13: Magnetism, where polar opposites are a good thing
  • Monday, April 14: Five simple machines, from levers to inclined planes
  • Tuesday, April 15: Math-o-rama (taking some of the sting out of tax day!)
  • Wednesday, April 16: Chemistry day, complete with slime and dry ice experiments
  • Thursday, April 17: Dissect cow eyes, sheep brains and more for a hands-on anatomy lesson
  • Friday, April 18: Learn about plants, from conifer trees to mosses
  • Sunday, April 19: Take a few selfies and get involved with social media day

Finally, after closing for Easter Sunday on April 20, there is earth science fun happening April 21-27, including:

  • Monday, April 21: Animal habitats, featuring special critter appearances at 11 a.m. and 1 and 3 p.m.
  • Tuesday, April 22: Sun/Earth day, featuring telescope viewing (weather permitting)
  • Wednesday, April 23: Weather day, exploring the water cycle, severe weather, clouds and more
  • Thursday, April 25: Lots of tree chat for Arbor Day
  • Friday, April 26: Learn how recycling helps our planet
  • Saturday, April 27: Explore caves and even make your own stalagmite

Activities are free with regular admission, which is $13/adults, $10/ages 2-12 and free/under 2. No registration is required, so drop in at any time! The fun happens during all open hours, which are extended on weekdays throughout the series. Times are:

  • Saturdays: 10 a.m.-6 p.m.
  • Sundays: noon-6 p.m.
  • Mondays-Fridays: 9 a.m.-5 p.m.

Check out the Metro Parent listing for directions and basic details on Michigan Science Center's space spring break fun April 6-12 and STEM week activities April 13-19, all happening in Detroit.

Comments

Leave a Reply

Enter Your Log In Credentials
×
Enter Your Log In Credentials
×